Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Pakistan itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

The Islamic Republic of Pakistan is located in South Asia and is the sixth most populated country on the planet. Pakistan currently celebrates nine national holidays. However, some of these holidays span over several days.

Public holidays in Pakistan are different than bank holidays in the country. While all of the banks are closed during public holidays, there are additional dates throughout the year when the banks are closed to the public. Bank employees still need to go to work on bank holidays; they just do not service the public.

The government of Pakistan announces holiday dates at the end of each year for the following year. This list includes how many days of celebration are granted to each special holiday. It is not unusual as these holidays approach for the government to make an official announcement granting more days for the upcoming celebration.

The government of Pakistan also reserves the right to declare one-time holidays throughout the year. These dates, in the past, have been used for natural disasters and commemorative days. Businesses and banks are required to comply with these holidays, even if given on short notice.

All Muslim bank holidays, public holidays and commemoration days are calculated using the Sufist lunar visibility calendar.

Pakistan only recognises Sunday as a day of rest. Any holiday that falls on this date remains on this date and is not moved to the following Monday. There has been much dispute in the past on whether weekends were on Friday and Saturday or Saturday and Sunday, so Sunday was established as the only day of rest and “weekends” are not recognised.

Religious and Regional Holidays

Although Pakistan is considered an Islamic country, the government acknowledges that there is a portion of the population that adheres to Sindh or Christian beliefs. With this in mind, the government has established that regional powers that have high populations of either of these religions can allow each to have 2 holidays based on their beliefs. The Sindh generally take 2 days for the Holi festival in March and the Christians take Christmas and the day after as their holidays. These holidays are only approved in those regions of Pakistan and not recognised throughout the country.

Public Holidays 2017

5 FebSunKashmir Day
23 MarThuPakistan Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
26 JunMonEid ul-Fitr *
27 JunTueEid ul-Fitr *
14 AugMonIndependence Day
1 SepFriEid ul-Azha Holiday
2 SepSatEid ul-Azha
3 SepSunEid ul-Azha Holiday
30 SepSatAshura
1 OctSunAshura
9 NovThuAllama Iqbal Day
1 DecFriEid Milad-un-Nabi
25 DecMonQuiad-e-Azam Day /
Christmas Day

* subject to change